Wish List 2006

December 20, 2006 at 2:41 pm Leave a comment

Absolute Kingdom Comeabsolutewgs_400×600.jpgJLA-AvengersRachael Ray’s Express Lane MealsDark Elf Trilogy BoxedSandman The Doll’s HouseAdidas Superstar II

Five days to go before it’s Christmas time again!  And what better way to make things even more exciting than with coming up with this year’s wish list!  I know it may sound pathetic to some but I like making a list of things even if I know I won’t be able to get them all.  Dreaming and hoping always beats sulking, I say 😉

I was suppose to make this list 7 days ago so that I’ll be able to list 12 items on the list for my own  12 gifts of Christmas but I was not able to come up with 12 wishes.  Add to that the several parties that I had to attend and what have you got?  I know, I know:  a late post.

So, without further chit-chat, here is my wish list for Christmas 2006:

1.  “Absolute Kingdom Come”.  An oversized hardcover with slipcase version of the hist “Kingdom Come” graphic novel from DC.  It tells about a future ruled by the next generation of superheroes and how the “old-timers” show them how it is not just to be super but to be heroes as well.

2.  “Absolute World’s Greatest Superheroes”.  Another oversized hardcover from DC with art (or rather, paintings) from the great Alex Ross.  I’m more of a story-over-art person but when it comes to Ross’ art, I can forego the story.  Good thing the stories here are at par with the art (so I’ve heard).

3.  “Absolute JLA/Avengers”.  Third in a row of absolute graphic novels.  This one collects the latest crossover between the big two in comic book teams (JLA and Avengers) and between the big two in the comic book world (DC and Marvel).  This latest incarnation features story from Kurt Busiek and art from George Perez (if I’m not mistaken. I’m feeling lazy right now to Google it, hehehe).  This, I believe, is the best crossover story ever between the two companies.  Must buy, if only to see if Superman can lift Thor’s hammer, Mjolnir.

4.  “Rachael Ray’s Express Lane Meals”.  From comic books to a cooking book!  I chose this over all the other Rachael Ray books because (a) it’s the only one I have seen (so far) with pictures (hehehe) and (b) it has a list of what you should be stocking in your pantry.  Oh, and if you’re wondering what’s a cooking book doing here:  i love to cook because i love to eat.

5.  “Dark Elf Trilogy” box set.  I have heard a lot about this book waaay back in college(?).  Recently, I was able to download the graphic novel version and this story really rocks!  Fantasy, philosophy, and action (and elves and trolls and fairies and giant spiders … oh my!), this one takes one of the cakes when it comes to fantasy stories.  The graphic novel version, though, lacks a little bit of the action (which, by today’s standards, is already more than enough!) which I know the original books are full of.  Hence, my wish for the boxed edition.

6.  A pair of Adidas Superstar II and a pair of cross-training shoes.  The Adidas is for the “day-to-day” commute to and from the office and the cross-trainers are for when I exercise and when I jog.  Nothing beats working hard and playing hard except for working hard and playing hard while wearing great shoes.

 7.  Neil Gaiman’s “Sandman” graphic novel, volume 2 and above.  No self-respecting comic book collector should be without these.  The first volume, “Preludes and Nocturnes”, was actually what introduced me to the “mature” side of comics.  Being the completist that I am, completing the whole series will be a dream come true for me.  Guess this will be one of the quests in my life.

These are what comes to mind right now.  I’m sure there are a “lot”(!) other things that I can include in the list, like DVDs like the original “Star Wars Trilogy” (episodes 4 to 6, where Han shoots first!  And contrary to popular belief, there is NO episodes 1 to 3.  They do not exist, hehehe.), the extended edition of “The Lord of the Rings”, the extended edition of “Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe”, and seasons 3 to 9 of “The X-Files”.  There are other graphic novels that I would also want to have like “Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1” (one of the better superhero comic books right now),  “30 Days of Night: Return to Barrow”, “300” (which will be shown in theatres soon), and “The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen:  Black Dossier”.  For audio CDs, the new album of the Corrs will be at the top of the list (not that there are others on the list, hehehe), while for games, Cranium, Nintendo DS Lite, and Nintendo Wii are the wish-i-haves for me.

This list has gone longer than expected.  I’m sure I could list so much more if given the whole day but for now the only thing left to say is:  Merry Christmas!  May we always be content with what we have been given 🙂

Entry filed under: nyek!.

Half-Filled Glasses: “Batman: Face the Face” what i got for Christmas …

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Flickr Photos